How to Merge Facebook Accounts

Every now and then individuals ask us How To Merge Facebook Accounts or more Facebook accounts. Currently don't obtain your hopes up! The truth is, it is not possible to automatically merge Facebook accounts. However, there are workarounds.

While Facebook does not use a method to auto-merge all your friends, images, standing updates, check-ins or various other details, you could manually merge parts of your accounts. All it takes is a little prep work and persistence. Unfortunately, you won't have the ability to migrate or re-create all your Data.


How To Merge Facebook Accounts


Bulk Download Data

As a very first step I advise to mass download your Facebook Data, a procedure I have actually described previously. This procedure can take a while and the archive will certainly function as a minimal back-up, need to you decide to shut down or delete your account. It will not be of great assistance in bring back any kind of Data, however.

Briefly, go to your General Account Settings and also click Download a copy of your Facebook Data near the bottom.


This will lead you to a web page where you can download your information and get a copy of exactly what you have actually shared on Facebook.


Currently do start your archive on this first web page. In addition locate where it claims You can also Download a broadened archive ... and also click the corresponding link. This will lead you to the Expanded Archive Download web page where you will be asked to re-enter your password.


Now right here is where you will certainly need persistence. Depending on just how big your main and also your increased archive are as well as how many other archives are in the queue, this can take some time. And also with that I suggest a number of hours.

Keep in mind that you need to Download both archives, to receive a complete back-up of your account!


As soon as your archive is offered for download, this is exactly what the web page will certainly look like.


Although your personal images are intended to be consisted of in the archive, you ought to download your Facebook Photos separately. Not only is this treatment one more backup, it is additionally a whole lot faster as well as may provide you with more choices.

Restore Friends

As stated over, you won't have the ability to Restore or move all your Data which includes your friends. You have to manually add friends to your new account. Regrettably, it is not feasible export your Facebook friends to a 3rd party account and after that re-import them to a new Facebook account.

Nonetheless, you could import contacts from 3rd party accounts such as Skype or Gmail. So if you have get in touch with details of the majority of your friends on accounts beyond Facebook, you can take a little shortcut. Most likely to your new Facebook account and also import get in touches with from any kind of sustained third party account (CSV data are also sustained) through the Find Friends page.


While you could export your Facebook contacts to Yahoo! Mail, it is not be feasible to re-import them to Facebook. And also contacts imported from Facebook will absolutely not be included in a Yahoo! CSV file.

I wrote a separate article on ways to back up your Facebook calls. Keep in mind that only contact information of friends who have consented to have their e-mail address consisted of in info downloads can be imported right into your Yahoo! account.

Restore Account Data

Right here comes the big disappointment. There is no chance to publish or otherwise import your archive to Restore or transfer Data from your old Facebook account to your new one. Whatever you want to Restore, you need to do it (semi-) manually or use 3rd party devices. Right now, the archive merely serves as an individual back-up, absolutely nothing more.

So exactly what are your alternatives? You could re-add your old friends as revealed above, re-upload images you downloaded from your old account, re-tag your friends in your photos, re-join groups you belonged to, re-add Facebook applications, by hand re-do all your personal Settings, consisting of general account as well as privacy Settings, e.g. safeguard your Facebook account, include trusted calls, or conceal your personal Settings. I want I had good information, but as I claimed previously, you can not auto-merge two accounts or Restore Data, so you essentially start from scratch.

What You Will certainly Shed

You will lose a lot! Your entire Timeline and News Feed history will certainly be gone, consisting of articles or images you were tagged in, areas you checked into, all the Sorts you issued or got, or teams you belonged to, all your account as well as privacy Settings, and other records you built up with time. Your images and friends are really all you can take with you, everything else needs to be re-created by hand.

Shut off or Close Your Old Facebook Account.

If you make a decision to shut off or close your old Facebook account, make sure to add your brand-new account as an admin to any Groups or Pages you handle. Otherwise you will lose accessibility to them.

As soon as you have cared for admin functions, have actually downloaded all your Data, and also make sure you wish to entirely eliminate your account, log into the Facebook account you intend to close, as well as go to the Remove My Account web page to begin the process. We have actually formerly explained Ways to Properly Shut Your Facebook Account.

Conclusion

Facebook permits you to Download an archive of your account. Nonetheless, there is no coordinating system in position to recover your Data, ought to the account get endangered. Facebook never planned to offer a restore feature; instead they were legally forced to provide a method for individuals to download their Data. Because of this, users are entrusted only half-baked options or uncomfortable workarounds, ought to they prefer to merge or move accounts.

Just what would trouble you most if you had to relocate to a brand-new Facebook account?